UDSM Important Announcement For First Year Students 2019/20

UDSM Important Announcement For First Year Students 2019/20, University Of Dar es Salaam, UDSM Admission, UDSM Registration, UDSM Campuses 

The University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) started in 1961 as a College of the University of London. In 1963 it became a Constituent College of the University of East Africa. It was formerly established in August 1970, as a National University, through the University of Dar es Salaam Act number 12 of 1970. It was established with three main objectives, namely:

To transmit knowledge as a basis of action, from one generation to another; To act as a centre for advancing frontiers of knowledge through scientific research; and To meet the high level human resource needs of the Tanzanian society.

Read Also:- Apply UDSM Scholarship Here For 2019/20 
In 1961, the University started with the Faculty of Law. It expanded over the years with the establishment of the numerous Faculties and Institutes. It established a number of Colleges, some of which were later evolved into independent fully-fledged universities.

In 1963, a School of Medicine was established within the premises of the then Princess Margaret Hospital.  In 1968 the School became a Faculty of Medicine of the University College of Dar es Salaam,  a  constituent  college  of  the  University  of  East  Africa.  With  the  creation  of  the University of  Dar es Salaam in 1970, the Faculty became the Faculty  of Medicine of the University  of  Dar  es  Salaam.  In  July  1991  the  Faculty  of  Medicine  was  upgraded  into  a constituent collegeof the University of Dar es Salaam - the Muhimbili University College of Health Sciences (MUCHS). The umbrella act for universities – The Universities Act number 7 of 2005 paved the way in 2007 for the elevation of MUCHS into a fully-fledged university - theMuhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS).

Read Also:- Download Here Join Instruction | Medical Form | Admission Letter

The University of Dar es Salaam Act number 12 of 1970 provided an enabling setting in 1996 for the transformation of former Ardhi Institute into a constituent college of the University of Dar  es  Salaam  under  the  name  the  University  College  of  Lands  and  Architectural  Studies (UCLAS). Over a decade UCLAS was nurtured and its programs and infrastructureexpanded. The umbrella act for universities – The Universities Act number 7 of 2005 paved the way in 2007 for the elevation of UCLAS into an independent institution - theArdhi University (ARU).

Read Also:- 9 Criteria Used To Admit Students UDSM 2019/20

Further  developments  have  been  witnessed with  the  establishment  of two  new  Constituent Colleges, namelythe Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE) and the Mkwawa University  College  of  Education  (MUCE).DUCE was  established  in  September  2005 by upgrading the former Dar es Salaam Teachers College. It admitted its first batch of students in the academic year 2005/06. MUCEwas established by upgrading the former Mkwawa High School. The College started admitting students in the academic year 2006/07. The two Colleges focus on the training of teachers for secondary schools in response to the needs of the Primary Education Development Programme (PEDP) and Secondary Education Development Programme (SEDP).

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post